PDA

View Full Version : Black Moor GoldFish help

adith123
05-22-2010, 02:44 PM
Hello, i'm very new to fish keeping, i had 2 black golds, one of them lost an eye :( i dunno how. and the other was pretty healthy, but today, suddenly, it was floating on its side at the top of the water, though it was alive, and breathing, then in sometime it eventually died . In the morning, it was pretty active though. What happened here. I have other regular goldfish and they seem to do good(touch wood)

P.S. I live in india and i've limited access to those ph tests and ammonia tests . is that a real necesssity pls advise !

Northernguy
05-22-2010, 02:50 PM
Welcome to the Fabulous AC!
Yes those test kits are very necessary.They tell you what your water is doing.
Ammonia and nitrites are very toxic to your fish.
How did you cycle your tank to make it safe for your fish?When was your last water change?
Read the ebook.There is a link in my sig.It will help.

adith123
05-22-2010, 02:52 PM
i cycled the water, after adding some dechlorinator

cycled for 3 days, with 10 zebra danios, as advised by the fish store( ppl here dunno much )

2 artificial plants, gravel

1 underwater mechanical filter, which releases oxygen at the same time !

thats about it ! kindly help

Thanks in advance

Lady Hobbs
05-22-2010, 03:03 PM
Please read the link in my signature regarding goldfish sizes. What size tank do you have? Those danio's did not cycle a tank in 3 days! Maybe in 3 weeks and then only enough for one goldfish.

adith123
05-22-2010, 03:33 PM
so wat can i do now ? and 1 gold fish ? they're really small. I was thinking maybe getting a bigger tank for them once they're bigger. Is that wrong ?

Lady Hobbs
05-22-2010, 03:37 PM