PDA

View Full Version : Sick Fantail Goldfish

Helen H
05-20-2010, 08:35 PM
Hi all hope I am doing this right it's my first time.

I have 4 fantail goldfish I bought 2 months ago, one of them was hurt from when I bought it....... it can't seem to stay at the bottom of tank and floats upside down at the top of the tank, I have also noticed it has a couple of small black bits on its tail fin, (not sure if it is meant to be like that)...... when I bought it, it's tail fin was split right the way up and is still split way more then the other fish.

But the fish is eating really well with the rest of the fish and swims when there is food around, I think it is when it gets tired it really starts to float stright up and fast.

Can anyone help please it is so sad to see this fish in this way.... thanks :goldfish: .

megastealer
05-20-2010, 08:49 PM
How big of a tank are they in? If you have 4 goldfish they would need a pretty big tank so they can't produce enough ammonia to make them all sick.

Ammonia is constantly produced by the fish, and its clear so you won't even see it poisoning them :sconfused:

Brhino
05-20-2010, 08:58 PM
What you are describing is swim bladder disease. There are a number of things that can cause it, but the swim bladder, which helps fish maintain their balance and buoyancy, is no longer properly functioning, which is why he goes upside down whenever he's not actively working to do otherwise.

Swim bladder disease is often caused by overfeeding. You could try not feeding them for a day or two (don't worry, they won't starve) and/or feeding them some shelled peas (natural fix laxative). However, once the damage to the swim bladder is done it's often irreversible.