PDA

View Full Version : Are these currents too much for a betta??



abrar90
05-18-2010, 04:38 PM
Hi everyone...

My 10g betta tank is almost ready.... i just have one question...

Are these currents too much for a betta??

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=foxj9I9lqD0

annageckos
05-18-2010, 04:39 PM
WOW!! Yes, I would say that is too much for most fish.

EmmanuelJB
05-18-2010, 04:41 PM
Yes! Those currents would be WAY to strong for a betta, or any other fish that would go in a 10 gallon that I can think of. If you keep a betta in that tank the betta would probably die of stress.

annageckos
05-18-2010, 04:43 PM
the betta would probably die of stress.

I would assume that the betta would die from being slammed into the wall.

abrar90
05-18-2010, 04:44 PM
hmm... so can anyone suggest some modifications ....that i can do...

EmmanuelJB
05-18-2010, 04:45 PM
I would assume that the betta would die from being slammed into the wall.
That too....

annageckos
05-18-2010, 04:55 PM
I don't know if you can modify that. That current is really strong. I suggest a sponge filter or a HOB like an AquaClear that you can adjust the flow.

abrar90
05-18-2010, 05:01 PM
Which size tank is suitable for such a filter??

the flow rate mentioned is 500L/h

and a small sponge filter or large one is better??

Brhino
05-18-2010, 05:03 PM
500L/h is 132 gal/hour. So, perhaps something like a 45 gallon tank would be better suited for that beast.

abrar90
05-18-2010, 05:08 PM
Which one of the following two is better??

http://www.petwell.com.hk/f901filter.jpg

annageckos
05-18-2010, 05:34 PM
Either one really, the small one will work fine for a betta.

korweabo0
05-18-2010, 10:00 PM
i would hate to have my betta in that tank! i hope you get that filter changed a.s.a.p.

FishGirl-Seattle
05-23-2010, 08:29 AM
The one on the right, the bigger one. Is your tank cycled? When you change the filter you will be losing most of your bacteria and will probably need to re cycle. If the betta is the only fish that will be in the tank you can probably get by without too much burden on him if you just jump start the filter bacteria by adding some "juice" from a filter that already has a good bacteria load. You LFS should give you some filter water or maybe even some of their used filter material.

That power head in you film clip looks like it was meant for a larger reef tank....wow, you could ski behind that!