PDA

View Full Version : Horrors pros/cons and journal.

HorrorShowRot
05-16-2010, 03:37 AM
All right so today I went to big Alls and saw a beatiful tank a 200 gallon tank. Now I have been researching salt water tanks on and off for a few months now. And just seeing the SW inverts and fish in the tanks at the stores just strikes me as fascinating. I know that they are more expensive then a FW but hell. I figure even on a low budget if you save up you can run one? Now heres a list of pros/cons

FW
Pros
Have all the necessary equipment.
Doesnt need high powered lights.
Less work.
Tap water works with declorinator.
Not as pricey

Cons
No amazing fish/corals and I can go on.
Same old drab tank.
Not as eyedropping for guests and such;)

SW

Pros
Beatiful.
Concept of having a reef in my house amazes me.
Cool fish/verts etc
Dont have to travel to cuba etc just to see these beaties

Cons
Pricey
Harder to maintain
Will need an RO system.
Not sure what i am doing.XD

And now If I were to set up a tank what necessary equipment do I need. I will be getting a large protein skimmer but how do they work? And I notice in lots of SW tanks theres the overflow to the sump why is that? Do i need it?

MCHRKiller
05-16-2010, 04:16 AM
lol, may want to consider a smaller tank for your first SW...55-90G is perfect. I spent over $1800 on a halfdone 15G reef...before the epic poweroutage of '09...reefs also dont get much cheaper the larger they get. Average price is around $100 per gallon. :22:

Lab_Rat
05-16-2010, 04:27 AM
If you have the cash to drop on it and you've really done your research, it would be awesome to have that big of a reef tank. Of course that's if you've really done your research...

HorrorShowRot
05-16-2010, 04:28 AM
Hm.. Well from what I have researched having a larger tanks help with the water quality?

HorrorShowRot
05-16-2010, 04:29 AM