PDA

View Full Version : Plant Test kit?

Trillianne
05-14-2010, 08:29 PM
Ok so, I know that my plants need some help. They are all growing, but the offshoots and new growth seems pale. I have some potential ideas (based on the posts here)on what this may be, but I need to get try either new light or run some tests to find out more. Either way its a trip to the lfs for me.

I have my API master test kit for PH, Ammonia, Nitrates and Nitrites. I know they sell Phosphate and Carbonate kits separately.

Is there a "Master Planted Tank" kit?
If not... which are the "most important" things to test for to diagnose my ailing plants?

rich311k
05-14-2010, 08:53 PM
Nitrate the other tests for plant nutrients are not worth the money. You may have a light problem.

Lady Hobbs
05-14-2010, 09:38 PM
Are you using ferts of any kind? Sound like a nutrient problem to me. But rich's thoughts on your lights are very important.

Zilla
05-14-2010, 09:43 PM
Ok so, I know that my plants need some help. They are all growing, but the offshoots and new growth seems pale. I have some potential ideas (based on the posts here)on what this may be, but I need to get try either new light or run some tests to find out more. Either way its a trip to the lfs for me.

I have my API master test kit for PH, Ammonia, Nitrates and Nitrites. I know they sell Phosphate and Carbonate kits separately.

Is there a "Master Planted Tank" kit?
If not... which are the "most important" things to test for to diagnose my ailing plants?

Here's a list of possible symptoms and possible fixes. Read each one carefully as some of them overlap or have similar descriptions.

Meh! It would help of I posted the link... http://www.aquariumplantsandsupplies.com/blog/aquarium-tips/identifying-aquarium-plant-deficiencies/

Trillianne
05-14-2010, 09:48 PM
Are you using ferts of any kind? Sound like a nutrient problem to me. But rich's thoughts on your lights are very important.