PDA

View Full Version : New to goldfish, could use some advice.

Malawidolphin
04-17-2010, 03:08 PM
Hello, I am new to keeping goldfish (pond fish) but have kept cichlids for years. I am in the process of getting my pond up and ready. I set up a 55g I had in storage and started the cycle with Used media from one of my fluvals from another tank and 5 giant danio dithers from another tank. With used media and an already established HOB filter I didn't see an ammonia/nitrite spike. Over the next couple of weeks I added 10 small, but very nice feeder comets and two 4.5" shubunkins. (I know feeders are usually poor quality, but the LFS I get fish from are exceptional with care and feeding and their feeders look like "pond comet" quality.) I did see a small ammonia spike of .50 and also a nitrite spike of.50. Both readings zeroed out after two 50% water changes in 2 days. That was about 10 days ago. I noticed the one of the feeder comets looked like it could have a couple of Ich spots. I proceeded to add salt like I usually do to treat Ich in my other tanks. I add One large Tbsp. per 5 gallons. The next day 2 of the feeders looked like their slime coat and skin was sloughing off. I figured maybe goldfish couldn't tollerate salt like my other fish so i did a 50% water change. Over the next couple of days those 2 improved. The giant danios and 2 other goldies showed Ich so I reluctantly bought Jungle Ich meds and started treatment. After 2 days the danios are the only ones with spots (and lots of them) so I removed them to a Qt. tank and am continuing the treatment of the goldfish tank for another few days. I didn't want to keep the danios in there because the Ich will have to drop off sooner or later and I didn't want to take the chance of not killing everything off.
Sorry this post is so long but I know the details are important when asking for advice.
Questions:
Do golfish not tolerate salt treatments?
Do they normally slough off their slime coat to get rid of illness?