PDA

View Full Version : Help with rescued goldfish?

r4k
04-16-2010, 07:24 AM
I got this goldfish today from a friend. I was wondering what are the red lines on his eyes are. His shape is also sort of weird.

He is also not swimming to the top :(

They bought this little dude about 2 years ago. He was a blackmoore apparently but now he's orange. They also told me that he was blind on one eye before. I'm guessing it was an infection that cleared up??

He has been in a 10gallon aquarium since then with other fish.

He is currently in a 30gallon aquarium with my black moore and a fantail.

Any advice on whether the red lines across his eyes are normal and his body shape? What should I do to help him?

His photos:
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc265…
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc265…

Irish2539
04-16-2010, 09:14 AM
Im not a goldfish expert... but yeah sounds like he had a bacterial infection in his eye and nothing was done about it... Best thing to do is do a big water change and add melafix. As for for red eyes... iv never heard of this.

Well i cant actually see the pics for some reason... but since he was in a small tank for 2 years its stunted his growth and thats why he may be a bit deformed.. or it could be birth defect...

r4k
04-16-2010, 10:18 AM
thanks.. is there something that can be done for stunted growth?
i'll try posting the pictures again.

http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc265/r4k237/IMG_3516.jpg
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc265/r4k237/IMG_3517.jpg

Irish2539
04-16-2010, 11:35 AM
mmm that gold fish aint lookin to happy! Frm the pic it looks like he has pop eye.. erm no there is nothing u can do about the deformation.

At least u got him out of the 10gal.thumbs2:

As i said i dont know much about goldfish, but to me it looks like a fancy goldfish...?

VoidParadigm
04-16-2010, 11:28 PM
Painfully stunted.