PDA

View Full Version : Tankmates?

Thomosam
04-07-2010, 06:57 PM
Hi I'm new to the aquarium scene so I decided to start off with a 30 gallon tank to see if I enjoyed the process and to test my skills before I graduate to a larger size tank. The temperature is sitting at about 78F. Lots of hiding spots. No live plants..

I've had a few fish come and go over the last month and a half. Right now there are only 3 fish in my tank.
- Frontosa Cichlid
-Demonsi Cichlid
-Bristlenose Pleco

Our local pet store does not have a lot of options. I found a few fish I really like but I wanted to know if any of them can go with my fish (which are still small and I won't buy a fish that has a big size difference than my own).I only plan to get maybe 2 fish this time around- in the end max 6 fish other than my pleco
- Green Spotted Puffer
- Figure 8 Puffer (The figure 8's are bigger than my fish)
- Blood Parrot (SM)
- Oscar (SM)
- Jeweled Cichlid
- Jack Dempsey (SM)
- Clown Loach
If i can't get those then maybe:
- Auratus Cichlid
- Angelfish

Zilla
04-07-2010, 07:07 PM
I'd suggest you do your research. The only fish that is acceptable on your list just from the current stocking is the pleco.

Red
04-07-2010, 07:09 PM
Frontosa get around a foot long, and can only be kept in a tank above 125. You should return everything besides the pleco and go from there.

Brhino
04-07-2010, 07:17 PM
Unfortunately the three fish you have now are not suitable for each other, to say nothing of adding more fish. Both cichlids would need a bigger tank even with acceptable tankmates, as well. I imagine that you have been buying what catches your eye, which is understandable, but if you want your fish to live very long you really need to do research and planning. The folks here are great at helping with both!