PDA

View Full Version : Questions about malawi before I buy them

johnicd
05-12-2007, 01:27 AM
Thanks for taking the time to read this.
I am new to cichlids as this is going to be my first attempt at them. I have an endless amount of questions ranging from which filter to what type of Malawi to buy. So might as well start it off.

I have a 50 gallon tank that measures 36"L, 12"W, 24"T.
What do you recomend for a filter that isnt outragously priced. The substrate is another question I have. I would like to use gravel as I already have about 30 pounds of it. But would would you recommend for that. What types of rocks, trees, fake plants do you suggest.
Lights are another question. I am stumped when it comes to them. What types will I need to make these little guys happy.
I plan to get 2 or 3 Powder Blue Cichlids, what would be good tank buddies for these guys. Thanks a hell of alot for dealing with all of these questions and you can gaurantee that I will have more in the future.

Drumachine09
05-12-2007, 01:46 AM
The powder blues (psuedotropheus socolofis) are on of the more docile mbunas. They are still agressive, but less agressive compared to other mbunas. Good tankmates would be yellow labidochromis caeruleus, and/or red zebras.

If agression is a problem, i think peacocks are less agressive.

cocoa_pleco
05-12-2007, 01:53 AM
peacocks are waaaaayyy more peaceful. Mbunas are violent and may go after their own kind even. Peacocks are less of a headache

johnicd
05-12-2007, 01:55 AM
So you think I should go for peacocks instead of the powder blue ones or get the PB ones with a few peacocks as well

cocoa_pleco
05-12-2007, 01:59 AM
just peacocks. saves alot of headaches. Trust me. I should let you take my auratus for a test drive. He will get you off mbunas for life. Hes REALLY cranky all the sudden

johnicd
05-12-2007, 02:01 AM