PDA

View Full Version : Identify these goldfish.

dlaube
01-05-2010, 02:32 PM
Well I feel like such a novice here, because I've never really kept any goldfish or koi before. I was told that one was a some type of koi and the other was a gold fish. But it was by an older couple who I really doubt had any real idea of what they were talking about. I'm not convinced that these are two different types of fish here.

http://img51.imageshack.us/i/065tt.jpg/
http://img706.imageshack.us/i/068kw.jpg/
http://img94.imageshack.us/i/069rm.jpg/

these photos don't do any justice for how long and flowing their tails and fins really are. I was originally planning on setting up a cichlid tank, but I fell in love with these guys after I put them in the tank because my LFS wouldn't take them.

Also I would like to know what kind of fish might be compatible tank mates. I keep the water a steady 75 degrees, for the longest time these gold fish were kept in 80ish degrees...and according to everything I've read about gold fish, it wouldn't really matter what the temperature was anyways...

I know that generally, anything that can fit in their mouth will most likely eventually end up there, but once I get rid of the humongous pleco, the front of the tank will have plenty of low rock caves for anything that needs hiding, and the back of the tank will be lined with tall fake plants.
The majority of the tank will actually be open space for those big guys.

I really would like to have a variety of fish in there, and am fascinated of the idea of having these 2 big 'center pieces' along with plenty of color and variety all around them, but I plan on doing everything only for the best interest of the fish. If there is something not right here, I would be much obliged to fix it. Even if it means getting rid of these fish all together.

annageckos
01-05-2010, 02:38 PM