PDA

View Full Version : My Tank Cycle, Any Thoughts

danthefishman
04-23-2007, 06:46 PM
Ive set up my first marine tank and its been runiing for 11 days now, it has coral gravel, live rock and two filters running in it. I decided in my wisdom last week to put in a mushed up frozen piece of fish food to start the cycle.
Now my ammonia, nitrite and nitrate are through the roof.
PH and salt levels are perfect.

Is this ok and should i now just wait for it to drop?
Is this ok for my live rock?

Any thoughts would be good as i am a complete novice with marine tanks!

jeffs99dime
04-23-2007, 07:07 PM
Ive set up my first marine tank and its been runiing for 11 days now, it has coral gravel, live rock and two filters running in it. I decided in my wisdom last week to put in a mushed up frozen piece of fish food to start the cycle.
Now my ammonia, nitrite and nitrate are through the roof.
PH and salt levels are perfect.

Is this ok and should i now just wait for it to drop?
Is this ok for my live rock?

Any thoughts would be good as i am a complete novice with marine tanks!

i'm not a "marine tank" guy but i will move this thread to the saltwater section. maybe that will help out more.

cocoa_pleco
04-23-2007, 07:19 PM
Your live rock will die off, but you will get 80% of it back after the cycle.

The ammonia goes up, then it goes down and nitrates go up, then do water changes

unleashed
04-23-2007, 07:21 PM
in regards to ammonia, nitrate and nitrite, they are all doing fine. You need to test the water everyday - when everything is at 0, you have to add a fish with 24 hours, otherwise you will need to start the cycle all over again.

BTW, some more info would be nice

gm72
04-23-2007, 11:20 PM
unleashed, during a cycle nitrATe will not be at zero unless you change the water at the end of the cycle. Ammonia and nitrITe should however, be at zero.

danthefishman
04-24-2007, 04:16 PM