PDA

View Full Version : Too many fish, not enough space...

new2this
12-31-2009, 06:04 AM
Hi, I'm Nisa and I'm new to having fish and taking care of them.

Yesterday, I bought a 10 gallon fish tank and 2 black convict cichlids (I think both are males) and a larger fish that the person in the petstore couldn't identify (it's a cichlid too, though, I believe).

Anyway, after I bought the fish and the setup and everything, I read that a 10 gallon tank is too small for 2 convict cichlids, let alone the third larger fish too. I was wondering how long it's okay to keep them in the smaller tank until I have the money to buy a whole new setup for them? I'm worried that the larger convict cichlid and the other large cichlid will hurt the smallest of the three since they seem to be chasing him around the tank.

I appreciate any help you can give as the perstore people don't seem to know much of anything about fish (they told me I could put 10 convict cichlids in the 10 gallon tank).

Northernguy
12-31-2009, 06:07 AM
Welcome to the Fabulous AC!:22:
Return the fish.If they don't kill each other the small tank will.
Sorry about the bad news!
Did you cycle the tank?
Have you a test kit?
I do suggest you read the free ebook.Its on the left
It will help as we help you get started.

little hawaii
12-31-2009, 06:17 AM
Hi, I'm Nisa and I'm new to having fish and taking care of them.

Yesterday, I bought a 10 gallon fish tank and 2 black convict cichlids (I think both are males) and a larger fish that the person in the petstore couldn't identify (it's a cichlid too, though, I believe).