PDA

View Full Version : Curious...Is there an epilepsy awareness...

debbie51975
12-24-2009, 02:34 PM
Since I'm a newbie, I can't see them all. I keep seeing some folks with purple ribbons. Is that an epilepsy ribbon? Or a different one? Although I suppose, they can be whatever the beholder wishes them to be.:ssmile:

Just wondering. Is there a list as to what they all stand for? Or only in the ribbon store?

Rue
12-24-2009, 02:39 PM
They're all grouped with other health issues...but I think it's the lilac one...

debbie51975
12-24-2009, 04:05 PM
Thanks:ssmile: So many ribbons! Almost sad in a way...On the other hand, they do make folks ask what they're for..which is the point I suppose. I ordered a bunch for my sons class in school. Little purple pins. I'm hoping that the kids won't make fun of his seizures if they can feel like they're somehow a part of helping him. No idea if it will work. Stress brings out the seizures & we've had a rough month. My son is afraid that if the kids see him drooling on himself etc...they'll tease him. I'm betting they'll just be more afraid of what they're seeing, than finding it funny.

Crispy
12-24-2009, 04:09 PM
Get him into fish keeping. A nice tank is a great stress-reliever! That and jamming with the band is the only 2 'legal' stress relievers I can think of. :hmm3grin2orange:

Rue
12-24-2009, 04:19 PM
Thanks:ssmile: ...I'm hoping that the kids won't make fun of his seizures if they can feel like they're somehow a part of helping him. No idea if it will work. Stress brings out the seizures & we've had a rough month. My son is afraid that if the kids see him drooling on himself etc...they'll tease him. ....

Teasing and bullying is a funny social behaviour we have. My youngest son has a slight learning disability, complete with a slight speech impediment. He sounds like he has an accent...and maybe that's why people who don't know him don't really notice enough to say anything...(wonder where they think he's from?)