PDA

View Full Version : Plastic plants and aquarium ornaments

Bellie816
12-20-2009, 11:21 PM
Does anyone have a Betta housed with plastic plants and/or aquarium ornaments? If so, have you had any problems with this as far as injuries to the Betta or his fins?

I know a lot of reading suggests using silk plants or real plants, but I figured plastic was the easiest and cheapest way to go. I also have tank ornaments (2 of them) so I'm not sure if this is going to be a problem.

Northernguy
12-20-2009, 11:24 PM
I have a plastic plant but mostly silk plants.They are much softer and will not hurt your betta.

tori.lock
12-21-2009, 03:24 AM
I've heard plastic plants tend to rip their fins, but I have no experience with it. Mine is housed with all real plants, which is very easy. So far I haven't had to do anything to care for them other than removing diatoms and occasional pruning. The betta supplies plenty of nutrients for them, but if I need to I'm ready to put some root tabs in.

For decorations I have a plastic root system, a rather controversial piece of have in an aquarium but I've never had any problems with it. Some fish swim down and into them and because they're hollow down to the roots they tend to get stuck. I know some people have filled them in with substrate to prevent that, but my betta loves to sit out and watch from inside and I'm afraid if I fill up a part of it it'll be too much that he can't turn around it. I've personally never had a problem with them, but because so many people have I won't recommend it without a warning. It looks great, and he loves it. For other decorations anything will work so long as it doesn't have anything that his fins can snag on. Almost any aquarium-safe toy is betta-safe.

iZinedane
12-21-2009, 03:25 AM
Be careful on using them! i recommend silk plants or much better live plants
a bettas fins are very delicate so sharp edges can tear them.

VoidParadigm
12-21-2009, 04:31 AM