PDA

View Full Version : New 55g Tank

TeebD
12-14-2009, 12:41 AM
I just bought my first tank today. Just started setting up and will begin a fishless cycle soon. it is a 55 gallon tank along with a Magnum 350 Canister filter, 200 Watt Marineland Visi-Therm heater and some fake plants / driftwood. I plan on doing a weekly water change (is this a good schedule?) Now it is time to figure out what fish I want! I am completely new to the aquarium game so I have no idea how many fish I should be getting. From some of the fish I have been looking at I'm pretty sure I want some Angle Fish as a center piece (Do I have room for more than one? Do angle fish get along together?) A school of Tetras and Cories (again I am not sure how many I should be getting.) Some other fish I was looking at were the Zebra Danios some Dwarf Gouramis possibly some Platies and then some Rainbows. I am for the most part looking for bright and active fish to show off! Thanks for the help.

//Steve

rich311k
12-14-2009, 12:47 AM
Yes you could have more than one angel, the trick is finding ones that get a long. You could keep a dozen or more tetras depending on which kind you like and kind find. Corys are a great choice and a school of 8 - 10 would have a great time in your tank.

Rainbows would work as would danios or gouramis. It depends on which species you want. You cant get them all. Rainbows get larger and are active a group of 3-5 depending on type would be quite nice, but I would drop the angels then.

Danios are like tetras you could use them as dithers with any of the fish on your list.

TeebD
12-14-2009, 12:57 AM
Are cichlids a good choice?

Lab_Rat
12-14-2009, 01:04 AM