PDA

View Full Version : Lowest light plant? no bulb pref

Jermy
04-17-2007, 12:05 AM
I've started a new tank, im a newb all the way with fish. just testing it out with two regular goldfish and two snails. 10g tank with a 10g whisper filter. two lil hidaways on ither side.... like i said, NEWB

I would like to get at least one live plant... something that stays small (10g tank) but useful. and as low light as possible...i have the tank set up near my comp. and if i add lighting i would need to move it away cause it would irritate me. so i would like to avoid extra lighting at all cost.

Im hoping to have a lil bit of an ecosystem set up... clean up crew so i dont have to do too much. typical college kid, lazy, but willing if theres NO other choice (going to college so putting my brain to work at being lazy, why else go?)

Ive looked into java ferns, or some java plant. not sure with. and it seems like the best canidate. might give it a try, if it doesnt work, put it in the outside lil pond.

anyone have any ideas or recomendations on the lowest light plants?
or any comments on setting up a mini ecosystem deal... just curious to that idea. (figure it would work for the most part.. plants eat fish waste... fish eat plants? or baby snails? or shrimp?(who also work as the clean up crew if they make it to a decent size)

Chrona
04-17-2007, 01:14 AM
I've started a new tank, im a newb all the way with fish. just testing it out with two regular goldfish and two snails. 10g tank with a 10g whisper filter. two lil hidaways on ither side.... like i said, NEWB

I would like to get at least one live plant... something that stays small (10g tank) but useful. and as low light as possible...i have the tank set up near my comp. and if i add lighting i would need to move it away cause it would irritate me. so i would like to avoid extra lighting at all cost.