PDA

View Full Version : Ello! Opinions on platys?

badfish714
11-17-2009, 06:30 PM
Hello All!
I am relatively new to fishkeeping. I say relatively new because I have been a fish freak since I was little, worked in aquarium stores in the past and currently spend most of my time at work in the aquatics section, but this is my first serious tank of my own. I have wanted a setup for years, but could never afford a good one- until a few months ago when everything I needed fell into my lap in gently used but working condition. Yay for networking at the LFS! It seems like the fish gods have finally favored me!
The Specs:
75 G Freshwater tank
Hang on the Back Filter rated at 150 G + Sponge Filter rated at 125 G placed at opposite ends
200W Heater
Plenty of Mopani Wood, caves, Java Moss, Java Fern, some anubias (not sure which), and another type of plant I am still trying to identify
Substrate is currently playground sand but I would like to upgrade to black sand (3m Colorquartz if I can but that’s looking harder and harder these days)
>1 Watt per Gallon Fluorescent Lighting (I know I will need to upgrade this eventually but for now it seems to do well with the plants I have)
Weekly 1/3 water changes
KH: ~30 ppm
GH: ~30 ppm
PH: 7
Temp: 79 (but may slowly lower this soon to around 76)
Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: <20
I currently have 6 Corydoras Julii, 6 Otocinclus, 2 Bamboo Filter Shrimp, and one Amano Shrimp. Everyone seems to be eating well and looks healthy and happy. I plan on adding 6-8 Corydoras Panda, 12-15 Rummy Nose Tetra, a trio of either apistos or rams, and 1 or 2 more Amanos. (Maybe Malaysian Sand Sifting Snails- any comments on them? I am currently trying to get rid of Ramshorns.) I know this is pushing the limit in terms of stocking. I am a water change fanatic and have been told that with the 75 I will have a little more wiggle room due to larger footprint, small fish, etc.