PDA

View Full Version : Coldwater tank for Trout?

Leftyroc
04-11-2007, 06:25 PM
My cousin came over the other day and saw my new 150gal tank and has decided he wants to do a tank also now but wants to stock it with trout? We are avid fisherman(Catch and Release) and he wants to put a trout in the tank because at the sportsman show the Trout Unlimited Guys had real nice fish in a 75 gal. Anybody ever try this?

hungryhound
04-11-2007, 07:02 PM
My cousin came over the other day and saw my new 150gal tank and has decided he wants to do a tank also now but wants to stock it with trout? We are avid fisherman(Catch and Release) and he wants to put a trout in the tank because at the sportsman show the Trout Unlimited Guys had real nice fish in a 75 gal. Anybody ever try this?

It sounds interesting but I am not sure that it would work. I would think that trout would be similar to koi and only be a pond fish due to their size.

I have no experience here. But you said that you saw this at a sportsman show. Am I right to assume that this was a limited time event and that the tank in question (75 gallon with a trout) was only set up for a short time. It might be that the fish was actually kept and raised in a larger tank/pond and placed in the tank for the show.

Not to put an damper on your cousins plan, but a 75 or 150 gallon aquarium might not be a long term solution for trout.

It might help to know exactly what species of trout we are talking about, as that would be helpful in determining the size of the adult fish.

Not trying to put a damper on the idea, but it seems very unlikely to me that a trout could be raised its whole life in that aquarium.

sergo
04-11-2007, 07:04 PM
aren't they cold water fish? and i wouldn't think you could get more than one or two in a 150gal and i doubt they would be very happy. it does sound interesting however.

hungryhound
04-11-2007, 07:19 PM