PDA

View Full Version : Size of this bottle enough?

B.karthik
11-02-2009, 05:47 AM
Hi guys i am a newbie and i am having 3 beeta fish in seperate bottles.i am having doubt whether the size of this bottles are enough (or)not?i have posted the images below.please tell me what size should be used for a male beeta and also please post the image of that tank you recommend please...
Thanks

jaysee
11-02-2009, 06:09 AM
A bottle or jar is only good for short term housing, and that's a stretch of the word "good".

A filtration system and heater are needed for a betta to live long term, not to mention at least 2.5 - 5 gallons of water.

Lab_Rat
11-02-2009, 06:16 AM
The bottle is definitely not appropriate housing for any fish. A 5g tank would be much more appropriate for one. Also, contrary to popular belief, bettas do need filtration too.

Since you have 3 bettas a good way to appropriately house them would be to get a 10g aquarium with a filter and a heater. You can get two dividers to have 3 separate areas, one for each betta.

bluebluecow
11-02-2009, 06:49 AM
Please please , go out and buy either 1 10g or even better a 20g and divide in 3, or 2 10s and divide one in 2

Honestly you will see nothing of these fish unless they are in a space large enough to swim, then they really come into there own wonderfull playfull charecters. My male bettas are in 2 tanks,I have 3 males and 3 females, 2 males are in my 24g tank, 1 has a week in a breeder int tank tank, (this has holes in it so it has the filtration from the main tank, ) the other goes in the community and once a week we swap them over. My other betta is in a 17G tank, with neons, and he is so happy he is like a dog he plays with me, lets me stroke him he craves attention.

Liz

Deleted User
11-02-2009, 09:20 AM
No, that isn't good except maybe to hold them while you clean / maintain their usual tank.