PDA

View Full Version : Phosphorus removal and discus



domjd05
10-23-2009, 08:22 PM
will using phosphorus removing filter media harm discus?

Lady Hobbs
10-23-2009, 10:18 PM
I wouldn't think so. The better phosphate removers claim they don't release anything back in the water.

MonkeyPox
10-23-2009, 11:53 PM
Won't harm them at all; though I would recommend to remove/replace after a month.

domjd05
10-24-2009, 02:28 AM
ok great, anyone know of a reliable phosphorus test kit??

ILuvMyGoldBarb
10-24-2009, 02:41 AM
IMO, the best phosphate remover for a Discus tank is a water change.

As for a good test kit, just about anything that's available for the hobby will do just fine, none of them are extremely precise. I have used the Red Sea test with good success.

domjd05
10-24-2009, 02:58 AM
Right, and I will be doing plenty of those, however I'm not sure if it's my water supply, or what... and that, is why I'm asking about a good quality phosphorus test kit thumbs2:

Discus_Dude
11-04-2009, 09:52 PM
API test kits are the best in my opinion. Be sure to check the expiration date.

http://www.thatpetplace.com/pet/group/11386/product.web

jestep
11-25-2009, 02:35 AM
The mark weiss phosphate and silicate magnet works very well - http://www.marcweissco.com/freshwater_marine/phosphate_silicate/phosphate_silicate.html

It lasts longer than most others I've found and works very well at removing phosphates and silicates. Our tap water is off the scale on these and this removes them down to negligible levels. I was having massive algae problems until using this. If your tap water is like mine, water changes help the algae as much as the fish.

It is a little on the expensive side, but the cost per month is comparable to other phosphate removal methods.

domjd05
11-25-2009, 03:05 AM
Thanks all, I ended up trying some phospure, I'll see how it works.. WC's don't seem to help my algae problem at all.. I still don't have a kit, but I recently (ugh) learned that cheap carbon will release phosphorus back into the aquarium


Guess who uses cheap carbon?

Crispy
11-25-2009, 11:55 AM
Use this stuff for Discus.. Chemi-Pure. The 'elite' stuff will take care of your phosphate worries.

http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.saltycritter.com/images/pics/chemi-pure.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.saltycritter.com/filter-media/chemi-pure.htm&usg=__iH3TTQ76kbC4pn9yvt5q6MimkIc=&h=279&w=225&sz=11&hl=en&start=13&tbnid=JK7oheu6Uw11nM:&tbnh=114&tbnw=92&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dchemipure%26gbv%3D2%26hl%3Den%26sa%3D G

Dave66 turned me onto it and it's worked very well in my tanks when I've used it. :fish:

Discus_Dude
11-27-2009, 08:00 PM
Why not use better activated carbon? I know most discus keepers are dead set against using carbon of any kind for various reasons, but I haven't been able to find expert studies to support this.