PDA

View Full Version : Slate?!?!



Drumachine09
04-06-2007, 06:44 PM
Is slate safe to put in a saltwater aquarium? my tank is looking a wee bit bland, and id thought id put in some rock structures. Didnt know if it was aquarium safe, so i thought id ask you guys. Thanks.

Fishguy2727
04-06-2007, 08:36 PM
It's safe, but other types are much better. Lace rock is just dead live rock. Porous stuff with lots of holes, tunnels, nooks, and crannies are ideal for sw fish.

Drumachine09
04-06-2007, 08:40 PM
Ive seen "base rock" at my lfs. What is that?

Chrona
04-06-2007, 08:42 PM
Base rock is the cheapest live rock, without any/many organisms on it. Just contains the bacteria pretty much, and doesn't have the pretty coraline algae. People buy it to serve as a foundation, instead of sticking 10 dollar per lb live rock at the bottom where it can't even be seen.

Drumachine09
04-06-2007, 08:44 PM
Its not even in the water, its in a styrafoam bin under some tanks. They also have painted base rock.

Chrona
04-06-2007, 08:46 PM
Uh, hm, I'm probably thinking of a different term then....lol

cocoa_pleco
04-06-2007, 09:42 PM
my live rock has lots of little critters. theres little anenomes with stingy arms on it, and if i bump into the tank they retreat into their hole

Fishguy2727
04-06-2007, 11:16 PM
Then it is dead live rock, which can be used as base rock, although it is not as good as live base rock.

Those little anemones are aptasia.

cocoa_pleco
04-06-2007, 11:33 PM
Those little anemones are aptasia.


i was gonna ask you what they were. Thanks

2manyfish
04-07-2007, 02:28 PM
Do not use the "painted" base rock. You don't want to put unknowns in your tank!
BTW, you can use slate, it's perfectly safe. I have used it in the past to help create caves or to use as a shelf for corals, I've also used thicker pieces as a base, then put live rock on top. It helps to raise the height of the rock without costing $$$$.