PDA

View Full Version : Its been a long time!

osomxl
10-11-2009, 03:22 AM
I was a regular visitor several months ago, but had to leave to work out of town weekly as work is non-existent in my county.

I really wanted to start an aquarium, but being away from home for a week at a time meant that my wife would have to care for the tank and that is something way beyond her capabilities, atleast until I can show her on a daily basis how to properly check everything and clean and feed.

I have now returned to the forum as i have a new project!

I am an apprentice wireman in the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers and take college courses as a requirement of completing my training.

I will have to complete 5 years of school before I become a certified Journeyman Electrician. I am now starting the second semester of the second year.

This semester is all about motor controls. This means creating a system that controls different functions by using a control station such as you would find in an industrial situation. Our final is to create a system that has at least 3 functions.

I think I will try to create an automatically controlled aquarium type system to include filter and powerhead pump as well as lighting, all controlled by timers as well as a manual station.

I would appreciate any ideas as to what could be done, such as:

- Float control of water level in tank
- Timed operation of powerhead to create water effect such as waterfall or currents of a river
- Timed operation of powerhead to create simulated rainfall in conjunction with LED lighting to simulate lightning
- Timed operation of flourescent lights to operate during day and sequentially turn off and on to simulate sunrise and sunset and transfer to LED moonlights and air-rock
- Battery back up of vital filter system and timing equipment in case of loss of power