PDA

View Full Version : 120 FOWLR tank

sunfishman
10-10-2009, 01:02 AM
as some of you may know, i have had a delema about what kind of fish i should put into a new 120 tank i aquired i've had some experience withmarine and so i thought i would do a marine tank as i had some equipment for it. i want to know if a lionfish, a hippo tang, a clown trigger, and a longnose hawkfish would get along ok. also, would it be possible to keep a brittle star living in the live rock because lionfish eat shrimp and didn't want to buy one just to have it eaten. anyway i just wanted to see if these fish would get along or if i would need better tankmates. i want the tank to be centered aroud the lion and clown trigger so if some of the other fish need to be changed let me know.

kaybee
10-10-2009, 01:59 PM
Lionfish and triggers aren't a good mix, particularly the clown triggers due to their aggression level (despite the lionfish's defenses, the trigger may make life hard for the lionfish since they're capable of biting the tips of their spines off or worse). So one of these (not both) can be the centerpiece of your tank.

Inverts (such as the brittlestar) and triggers aren't a good mix. Triggers will eat inverts.

Smaller fish (long nose hawkfish) and large carnivores (lionfish and triggers) aren't a good mix. The smaller fish may get eaten.

The tang, especially a large one, should be compatible with any of the above, though when clown triggers get large (they can surpass 18", though I'm not sure how long it takes them to get to that size), they can get rough with their tank mates.

sunfishman
10-10-2009, 02:27 PM
i will keep the lion fish then, but most clown triggers i've seen stay close to the bottom and lionfish go to most all parts of the tank. if i keep the lion and the hippo tang, in your oppinion what are some other good tankmates. also, i really would like to put a regal angel in the same tank. would that work?

Amazon
10-10-2009, 02:54 PM