PDA

View Full Version : 1 Clown tank?

roulfi004
04-04-2007, 04:35 AM
Im a total newb in saltwater, and i need to ask this question.

I love clown fish.

Is it possible to build a cheap, small aquarium (5-10 Gallon -could change it as the fish grows in size-) to put 1 baby (3 cm) clown fish in? I found 1 at the store and i really think its one of the coolest fish to have. I am thinking about 1 clown and 1 anemone or artificial anemone

-Is regular filtering material, like those used in a freshwater aquariums, enough or do I need something else?
-Are additional equipment required? other than the salt from the store?
-Will the fish survive alone?

tx

palabared
04-04-2007, 06:41 AM
you may need a protein skimmer (in the filtration department) depending on what you put in that saltwater tank.

While it may be feasible to have a clown fish in a 10 gallon, no less, the anemone will not live in the tank without extremly high lighting (Metal Halides), which will cost you 10x more than your whole setup. The fish can survive alone. Read more on the lighting and anemone topics, here is a great forum for ONLY saltwater tanks, they even have a whole topic section on clown fish and anemones

http://www.reefbuilders.com/forums/

Fishguy2727
04-04-2007, 12:01 PM
Many aenmones don't need MH lighting. If you are beginner don't even worry about an aenmone, the clownfish don't need it at all (in captivity), and the fake ones look horrible to me. Filtration depends on how much live rock you want to do. I would add a little aquaclear, just don't use the carbon. What species of clown is the one you saw?

cocoa_pleco
04-04-2007, 01:54 PM
anenomes arent really needed. You can keep clowns in a 10g. Like reptileguy said, a aquaclear will work. I have a whisper and a rio skimmer on my 20g long salt tank and it works.

roulfi004
04-04-2007, 02:12 PM
If i understood right (correct me if im wrong):

Most basic setup possible: