PDA

View Full Version : Black Brush Algae...HELP!!

gball
10-02-2009, 06:03 AM
My twenty gallon non-planted tank is being over run by BBA. What can I do? I am getting a 55 gallon in two months that I will plant, and so I would like to know how to fix the problem in the 20 and how to prevent in the 55. 20 gal- 3 neon tetras, 4 black neon, 4 guppies, 4 h rasboras, 1 otto, 2 snails. Is there a fish I can add? Should I add live plants? I am new to this hobby and would appreciate any suggestions. Thanks:shappy:

Lab_Rat
10-02-2009, 06:25 AM
Excel is great for BBA. When you dose it, use a syringe and squirt it on the BBA. Just make sure not to overdose it or you can harm your fish. True SAE's also eat it, they're just about impossible to find though. Most fish won't touch it.

gball
10-02-2009, 03:58 PM
okay thanks I will try it

rich311k
10-02-2009, 04:07 PM
With no plants I would take everything out and bleach it. Rinse and soak extemelly well and return to the tank. The stuff is tenacious. If you were planted I would say add CO2 but you are not. Maybe cut down on lighting time to prevent a return of it.

Wild Turkey
10-02-2009, 06:01 PM
Just wanted to add to that you can spot treat with hydrogen peroxide in the 55 also. Use a syringe to squirt it on the bba dont exceed around 3ml per gallon per day

Dont remove any while its alive by hand since it can spread spores throughout the tank and make the problem worse.

martiemcg
10-11-2009, 05:52 PM
This has recently sprung up in my planted aquarium. My Cory cats try to eat it. They shake their heads like little bull-dogs trying to get it come loose but I don't think they have very much luck.

Yesterday I saw my lone Platy "Earl" successfully yanking chunks of it loose and eating it with relish. I wondered if it was toxic but he seems fine today and I figured he knew what was good or bad to eat. I hoped anyway.