PDA

View Full Version : Total newb, help me out with my set up?

Lolita
09-15-2009, 04:44 PM
Hi all!

So my best friend is totally new to fish, and she just got a crowntail betta. Right now, the betta is in a big fish bowl, but her birthday is in a week, so I want to get her a 5 gallon tank for the betta.

I have a few questions! Actually, a lot of questions...

Firstly, is a 5 gallon tank a good size? She absolutely can't have anything bigger, and anything smaller just seems cruel to me. Also, what can she put in the tank with the betta? Are there other fish that are compatible that can go in a 5 gallon without overcrowding, or is she better off leaving the betta alone?

I'll be buying her a 5 gallon starter tank, so it comes with a light, hood and filter. I'm also going to give her my old decor, which is a small hollow sunken ship half and some fake plants (real plants are a little beyond her experience, and she's already noticed that the betta has a habit of up-rooting things lol)

Thanks so much, and anything else you can tell me would be fantastic!!

XsquaredequalsX
09-15-2009, 05:06 PM
It is my understanding that Bettas like smaller spaces, so the 5 gallon should be absolutely golden!

It is also my understanding that Bettas don't like other fish very much - the males can be quite aggressive. If she wants other fish, I think some female Bettas would probably be the best option.

Of course, this is all hearsay to me - I've personally never kept Bettas...

What do the older*, more reputable members have to say?

*as in "been on the forum longer" not "been on the Earth longer" :lol:

robflanker
09-15-2009, 05:08 PM
I wouldnt put anything else in a 5g personally.

Lolita
09-15-2009, 05:11 PM
I was thinking nothing else, too--but she really wanted to give him tank mates, so I figured I'd ask. I thought Neon Tetra were compatible so I was going to tell her to get a few of those...but then I read that they weren't actually compatible, so I said nothing.

robflanker