PDA

View Full Version : Small tank setup advice needed

Kamereone
09-10-2009, 08:36 PM
Hi!

I'm a college student, and having grown up on a farm, I'm going absolutely NUTS having no animals to care for! At home we have several tanks of goldfish and turtles, but things that can crawl away are forbidden and I'd like to try something new!

I've got a pile of tanks to choose from; a few 10 gal and a couple of what I THINK are 2 gal, but I'm leaning towards believing more in the realm of 1.5 gal.

Whatever I get, it'll need to be hardy enough that I can leave them to their own devices for a couple days if needed. Nothing that needs to be kept at a very precise temp/pH/etc or that will take hours a day to care for. Also, paying $60K ayear for school means I don't have money to buy a $200 fish and spend $20 a week feeding it. I'm willing to set up lights / heaters / etc, but again, nothing TOO elaborate. Since I have a bunch of tanks, I can have a tank set aside for breeding fodder for the main tank if needed. The filters I have are just your basic charcoal ones, but I'm willing to do water changes.

So....
I'm looking at setting up one 10 gal with something fun and colorful.
I'll be psyched to get some plants and species diversity in, and something on algae duty would be sweet (less for me to clean!).

Also suggestions on possibilities for the 2 gal - I've read about Betta, guppies, red cherry shrimp, but would like to know if there's other options beyond just plopping a few fish in there. Plants?

My housemate has been clamoring for a frog - any suggestions for a 10 gal setup? (Fishie friends and plants and all that?)

I feel like I'm asking a lot, but everywhere I look there is information on ONE type of fish / plant / etc, or something specific about DON'T do that.... making it hard for me to find out what TO do....

Thanks in advance!
-Kamereone

smaug
09-10-2009, 08:46 PM