PDA

View Full Version : watts for 29 gallon tank



Lady Hobbs
03-30-2007, 04:55 PM
I know 2 watts per gallon is about right for a planted tank but going from 15 watt to 65 watt seems like a lot for these fish. I am about to get a light for my 29 gallon and have the option of 30 or 65 watt. Which should I get, you think?

Could I bother you to check this site: http://www.azgardens.com/newlights2.php

scroll down to the Coralite there and see if this is sufficent you think? This will sit right on my glass hood, correct?

Thanks guys.

Why did I get into planted tanks! This is all Abbeys_Moms fault.:ezpi_wink1:

Chrona
03-30-2007, 05:00 PM
I know 2 watts per gallon is about right for a planted tank but going from 15 watt to 65 watt seems like a lot for these fish. I am about to get a light for my 29 gallon and have the option of 30 or 65 watt. Which should I get, you think?

Could I bother you to check this site: http://www.azgardens.com/newlights2.php

scroll down to the Coralite there and see if this is sufficent you think? This will sit right on my glass hood, correct?

Thanks guys.

Why did I get into planted tanks! This is all Abbeys_Moms fault.:ezpi_wink1:

Cheaper here
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/Product/Prod_Display.cfm?pcatid=9871&N=2004+113345

65 watts will work great. 30 watts will work too, but only for lower light plants. How much time/effort would you be willing to spend? And would this be a flourite tank? 30 watts means no need for additional supplements other than trace. 65 may or may not require NPK. CO2 is also required for 65 watts, not so much for 30 watts

Abbeys_Mom
03-30-2007, 05:01 PM
I'll take the blame :), when things get sorted, you'll be happy. I don't ever want to good back to fake.

Chrona
03-30-2007, 05:03 PM
I'll take the blame :), when things get sorted, you'll be happy. I don't ever want to good back to fake.

I could never go back to fake either....or blue gravel for that matter ;)

xoolooxunny
03-30-2007, 05:10 PM
well i have 80 watts on 75 gallons, until i can afford a better fixture. Most plants grow, and the ones that require more light just dont grow as large. For instance, the vals I put in just grow about 8 inches up before they start running more new plants out in all directions, and my microsword grass didnt take, just kept making tons more chains.

My prized plants for my 1 watt per gallon environment are temple plants, Kleiner bar sword (which made a beautiful baby) and my red tiger lotus. All others that i put in usually do ok/fine, but my ultimate dream is the Madagascar Lace Plant!! Someday, someday...:41:

Abbeys_Mom
03-30-2007, 05:18 PM
Right now I only have 15 watts on a 27g. It was fine for my 10g, but not enough for the 27g. The light doesn't go all the way across, so I have all my plants at one end. I am hoping indirect sun from the window will help compensate till I can upgrade the fixture.

Lady Hobbs
03-30-2007, 05:49 PM
I'll take the blame :), when things get sorted, you'll be happy. I don't ever want to good back to fake.

LOL You got me all excited about plants when you started planting. Now all I want is planted tanks but man ol' petes......certainly not a cheap project by any means. Well worth it in the end, tho, if I ever can find the end. :ezpi_wink1:

Lady Hobbs
03-30-2007, 05:50 PM
I could never go back to fake either....or blue gravel for that matter ;)

LOL I caught that! Blue gravel=clown puke, I know.

Thanks for the link. I have checked out lights until I'm blue in the face too.

I ordered the light you directed me to! Thanks. Of course had to add 10 other things.

Chrona
03-30-2007, 05:50 PM
LOL You got me all excited about plants when you started planting. Now all I want is planted tanks but man ol' petes......certainly not a cheap project by any means. Well worth it in the end, tho, if I ever can find the end. :ezpi_wink1:

There is no end. Just sell the house and buy a giant tank to live in now ;)

Drumachine09
03-30-2007, 07:19 PM
There is no end. Just sell the house and buy a giant tank to live in now ;)

can you say house boat? lol

Chrona
03-30-2007, 07:22 PM
Hobbs, make sure to get either the adjustable mounting legs or the traditional ones unless you are ok with the thing laying on your cover.

And you ordered the freshwater 6700k one right? Are 29g tanks 24 inches accross?

EDIT: Ah nvm, they are 30 inches accross so you won't be able to use the legs. Not much you can do about it though, since there aren't many fixtures that are 30 inches (with freshwater bulbs that is) You'll just have to be careful with the full weight of the fixture sitting on the glass hood. Maybe put it on some sticks or rods so it's weight is on the rim of the tank and not the glass. Or get a piece of tempered glass/acrylic of that size ;)

Lady Hobbs
03-30-2007, 08:23 PM
The site I showed you said you can't use the legs on glass or full lids. It looks as the legs mount where they would interfer with the lid.

Attach optional Mounting Legs or Adjustable Mounting Legs (SEE BELOW) to Aqualight fixture for convenient aquarium access. Strip lights are to be used over a glass canopy. Adjustable mounting legs not recommended for use with a hood enclosure or for aquariums using a glass canopy.

??

Chrona
03-30-2007, 09:09 PM
Well it's a moot point since the fixture is 24" and your tank is 30" but the legs can be placed over glass tops with some care. I have mine over an plexiglass top and I just have to lift it up a little and slide it out. This only works with the cheapie legs though. Doesn't work for the adjustable ones that screw in.