PDA

View Full Version : !!! H E L P !!!

ic1angel
03-29-2007, 04:26 AM
I'm new to the fishing world as i've said earlier and been reading up lots of stuff here. I live in the caribbean. Got my first tank set up (29g) with 2 orandas,1 catfish, and stinky (he cleans the sides of the tank) don't even know his name, 1 live plant, whisper filter 30, coloured gravel, an air blower, some river rocks and got a fluorescent lighting hood.
I didnt even know about cycling before i stumbled on this site. I have a water tank outside and the water basically sits there for days. Do i need to cycle my tank even though i have fishes in it? Hell i've never tested for anything i don't even have a test kit. Do i need an undergravel filter? I do a 20-25% water change weekly.
Can someone guide me in the right direction?

Lady Hobbs
03-29-2007, 05:02 AM
The tank does not cycle without a source of ammonia. That comes from the fish food, gills and waste. When we cycle without fish, we suppliment their ammonia waste for pure ammonia in a bottle.

If you want a quick read for cycling a tank, check out the Tips for Newbies in the Tank setup thread.

genitor
03-29-2007, 05:10 AM
How long has the tank been setup? The tank will cycle with the fishes in it but some may not survive the cycling process. You shold download the free aquarium e-book, it has a lot of useful information that will help you understand the cycling process. A test kit will be helpful as it will enable you to see exactly what stage in cycling you are right now and we will be able to tell you how to proceed from there. If you know anyone with an established aquarium you can get some gravel from their tank and add it to yours, this will help to seed the tank with the beneficial bacteria that you need and speed up the cycling process.

roulfi004
03-29-2007, 05:10 AM
Im new myself but i already went through the stages you are in now.