PDA

View Full Version : Can a red-blothced river stingray keep with a red-tailed shark or black ghostknife?

b-man
08-27-2009, 11:26 AM
just wondering if it can be done before i buy the fish. please respond.

Red
08-27-2009, 12:11 PM
What size tank?

Little Embers
08-27-2009, 12:11 PM
I have no experience with them, but this link may help until someone else can advise you.

It recommends not to keep them with territorial fish, so I would not advise keeping it with a red-tailed shark.

http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/fish/potamotrygonocellata.php

EDIT: Looks like Red and I posted at the same time LOL!

b-man
08-27-2009, 12:37 PM
It is a 4ft tank. yeah the red tailed shark is my main concern but i was hoping there would be enough room for them both.

robflanker
08-27-2009, 12:39 PM
4ft by what by what.

If its an inch deep, than I think you know you answer. But the biggest 48' long regular sized tank is 110 gallons and you answer will still be no.

b-man
08-27-2009, 12:46 PM
the tank size is 4ft x 1.5ft. there are plenty of places for the fish to hide. do you think it could work?

robflanker
08-27-2009, 12:51 PM
the tank size is 4ft x 1.5ft. there are plenty of places for the fish to hide. do you think it could work?

No because based on this, the largest your tank could possibly be is 90 gallons. Could you give us all 3 dimensions?

Either way, the answer is no you can't - sorry

b-man
08-27-2009, 01:02 PM
well i think might give it a try (no offence) as this particular species of stingray only has a maximum diameter of 20cm so i think it will have enoug room and the shark is only small

robflanker
08-27-2009, 01:21 PM
I'm not offended, but why even ask for advice if you are going to do it anyways?

You should always stock your tank with what your fish will become, not what they are.

Your shark will get too big for whatever size tank you have, and the stingray is just a bad idea

b-man
08-27-2009, 01:23 PM