PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with surprise sparkling gourami spawning who also wants to say hello

archmichelle
03-24-2007, 05:52 PM
OK, I posted this to the introductions forum last night because I couldn't get it to post here for some reason. Thought maybe you guys could help me with some gourami specific questions.

I am a beginner fishkeeper. I got my first aquarium this past November. It is a 10 gal with a peaceful community consisting of 2 rosy white tip tetra, 3 platies (1 male, 2 female), 1 hillstream loach, 1 mystery snail, 1 African dwarf frog, and a pair of sparkling gouramis. About a week ago I noticed my gouramis were all of a sudden chasing everyone around the tank. I couldn't figure out why that was until about midweek I noticed there were fry hiding amongst two of the silk plants in one corner of the aquarium. You can imagine my surprise, I mean I know my platies give birth all the time and I have accepted the fact that the rest of the fish (as well as the palties themselves) probably gobble them up pretty quickly considering there are only so many places to hide in a 10 gal aquarium. My sparklers, on the other hand, are defending their young with a vengeance. By the time I got an addtional 5 gal tank to move my other fish to, the sparklers had tore some scales off one of the platies and ripped the dorsal fin of one of my tetra. I thought once I had everyone separated things would calm down though. Boy was I wrong. Everything is fine in the 5 gal, but the gouramis are spawning again! Yesterday the male was chasing the female and I thought I was going to have to move her too, tonight they're practlically swimming right next to each other all night, as the female dances and then the male wraps around her, squeezes some eggs out, and puts them into his nest. Maybe for someone trying to breed their fish this isn't all so shocking, but for me I really feel like a fish out of water (excuse the pun.)