PDA

View Full Version : Need some stocking advice

Jerm_the_werm
08-04-2009, 04:55 AM
i recently got a 75g tank and am waiting on my dad to get the essentials for it (hood, filters, gravel/sand...) i want malawi cichlids but dont know which one, i just know for sure about labs. BTW i am a beginner so the easier to take care of and less agressive the better. thanks

jman
08-04-2009, 05:03 AM
go to liveaquaria.com and click on freshwater then click on african cichlids see if you like any and you can read general info

Lab_Rat
08-07-2009, 11:12 PM
Honestly malawi cichlids are not the best fish if you are brand new to fishkeeping. They require great water quality and there can be a lot of aggression problems you need to spot before they escalate. Do some research about them and then decide if you should try keeping a less demanding type of fish first.

rangur1
08-08-2009, 10:03 AM
i would go for less demanding fish to gain experiance with, but if you really want africans , 3 are great to start with.

yellow labs

pseudotropus acei

rusty cichlids

but PLEASE read up on the special requirements of this group of fish.

gau
08-09-2009, 01:04 AM
I would say you start with Platys and Zebra danios..... Very adjusting, and cheaper if you make any mistakes :D

mac
08-09-2009, 01:45 AM
Personally I would read this. http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/ebook.html

Then study up on the fish you want. IMO Tanganyika Cichlids are far more easy to keep than Malawi's are.

mac

Jerm_the_werm
08-11-2009, 03:51 PM