PDA

View Full Version : Waiting...waiting...waiting

fishy_sarah
03-20-2007, 12:42 AM
I had my pregnant platy in a separate tank and she dropped five fry on Sunday morning. She didn't drop anymore and I was afraid she'd eat the five (I am very new at this breeding thing) so I moved her to my 29 gallon. Well today she is still absolutely huge. No sign of any fish born in the big tank (though with all my fish they may have been eaten) but she is clearly still pregnant. I know there are more in there. I don't want to put her back in with the fry, so I have her in a plastic breeder. She still hasn't dropped. How can I make her more comfortable? I know being in a breeder trap is not ideal but if she drops in the tank I will definitely lose the babies- I've had at least four pregnancies play out in the tank but never saw a single fry. The only fry I've ever had (three) were from a different platy in a breeding trap, but I really am hoping to get more than the original five from this pregnancy.

Temperature is 80, light is off, I am waiting patiently......I started doing a pwc but the siphon kept knocking the breeder trap over and it took me 20 minutes to catch her last time (with pulling every bit of java moss and decoration out of the tank) Last one was last Wednesday. Is there anything else I can do?

Shanni
03-20-2007, 02:44 AM
I have had the same issue.

I would put the platy back in a small tank and put your betta in a birthing tank for a couple days, or you can put the betta in the big tank with the other fish. I always had a betta in with my fish and it didnt bother them at all, except it picked on a black male molly with silver speckles(it attracked it alot) just keep an eye on it for awhile.