PDA

View Full Version : Metaframe tank restoration

Aude
07-16-2009, 07:42 PM
I acquired this tank for $5 a few days back and decided to track my progress as I've never done any type of aquarium refurb before. It's a 30? gallon, I'm guessing from the '70s or so. When I first filled it after a day it still was leaking in one corner. Apparently sometimes the tanks "reseal" after being filled with water for a while...but I decided to just reseal the thing because I really had no place to let it leak itself out (the outside of the house is pretty busy).

As you can see in the pictures, the old tar-like seal wasn't in all that great shape and was clogged with old gravel in places. I took most of the old stuff out with a razor blade the other day and will probably finish up tomorrow.

Then comes the resealing...I read, conflictingly, that silicone does and does not adhere to slate. Apparently washing with dishsoap will remove any oily residue and will help the silicone adhere? Anyhow, it's worth a shot. I've got DAP aquarium grade silicone for when the time comes.

Any suggestions on resealing this thing?

Epixstar
10-08-2009, 11:29 AM
i have three of these tanks and have been kinda collecting them the only good way to seal the bottom Ive found is to get a peice of glass from the hardware store cut it to the bottom size and silicone on top of that.

Aude
07-13-2010, 02:02 PM
I've had this tank for a while now - cleaned it up, removed the old cracked tar sealent and attempted to reseal it with silicon whenever the weather was right for outdoors work this past year.

I have really been looking forward to setting this tank up in place of my eclipse 12 kit, but the aquarium still leaks in one corner. Is my only option resealing the whole tank?

Also, are there any recommended aquarium sealants to use?

Northernguy
07-13-2010, 02:09 PM
That is a sweet tank!
I like the idea of af adding a bottom pane of glass to effectively silicone to.