PDA

View Full Version : Tiger Red Oscars

TracyUK
03-18-2007, 07:40 PM
Hi, this is my first post here, having just purchased three oscars. I am a little concerned that we have bought three as internet info seems to suggest that three is not good! We were told by the fish shop that three would be fine. We have put them in a 4ft tank established along with two 4" parrot fish and one 6" pleco. The oscars are only small at about 2-2 1/2" long. The first question is, will they be ok for a year or so in a tank of that size? and secondly will three oscars be ok together? They were in the tank with the parrot fish at the shop and there were only the three of them otherwise we would have just bought two (didn't want to leave one on his own:confused: )

Thanks

AquaQueen
03-18-2007, 09:46 PM
Hello TracyUK, Let me start by welcoming you to the forum. I am not an expert but I do have two Oscars and from the questions I have asked I know that two oscars need like 100gals of water for the pair to be comfortable. I also know that they grow very fast...at least mine are, So I don't know if they will last very long in a smaller tank also keep in mind they are messy fish and will need lots of filteration and water changes to keep a clean tank. I know there are a few Oscar owners here on AC and some that just know how to care for them with very helpful info so keep checking back for more replies. Good Luck.

Fishguy2727
03-18-2007, 10:53 PM
How many gallons is the tank? If you are not sure list all three dimensions and I will figure it out for you. A four feet tank could be anything from 33 to 150 gallons. What filtration do you have? What is your water change schedule? What are you feeding? Did you hear that three oscars will get aggressive, maybe two will bully the other one? That is a case by case thing and does not mean you will have problems with yours, especially since yours will be together since they are very small.

TracyUK
03-19-2007, 07:36 AM