PDA

View Full Version : Dwarf Gourami Tankmate Help?

VoidParadigm
06-24-2009, 04:39 AM
Right now I've got a pair of dwarf gourami and a temporary blue (three-spot) gourami in a 10 gal tank.

Does anyone know what could be suitable tankmates for the dwarf pair and how much room each fish/any tankmates you suggest take up?
---
Any other random tidbits about gouramis that comes into your mind would be helpful too, as I'm new to gourami care. :ssmile:

robflanker
06-24-2009, 10:21 AM
I wouldn't get any fish with your current stocking and i'd consider splitting up the gouramis. They are relatively big fish for a 10g, and with 3 of them you want to consider separating them as they are pretty territorial too.

For a 10g stocking, i'd think about
1 dwarf gourami
AND
6 zebra danios OR 6 tetras OR harlequin rasbora
AND
6 dwarf corys (only if you do a smaller species of tetra)

Your stocking will be pretty high and you'll need to do weekly water changes, and have good filtration but that should give you a good mix of fish in your tank.

Gayle
06-24-2009, 01:18 PM
10g is really not large enough for the Blue Gourami, that one will need a larger tank, or you may want to rehome it.

10g is also not big enough for the pair. I assume you mean pair as in male and female. I would pick one and rehome the other, and still get a larger tank, maybe 20g. IMO

With Gouramis the male can be very aggressive during breeding or in a small tank over territory. Some may be more peaceful than others, each fish does have its own personality. For the most part though, unless you want to breed them, I do not recommend having a male and female, nor two males.....sometimes even two females will fight.