PDA

View Full Version : White, cottony growth

pedsdoc
03-09-2006, 07:34 PM
Hi all, newbie here but have done a lot of research...
Problem: White, stringy cotton-like growth that occurred one week after putting plant in tank. Plant turns out to have been a bulb from a wal-mart store, and local pet store owner told me to not worry...

My Tank: 30 gal, cycling for 5 weeks, no fish yet, gravel, eclipse 3 hood, one plant, and one piece of driftwood that I persoaked for 10 days. KH 0, GH 0, pH 6.5, Nitrite/Nitrate 0, ammonia 0.5 (have been adding pure ammonia to "feed" bacteria until I get fish next week). Light on 12h cycle. Using Cycle product, no water changes yet. I had put some flake food two weeks ago before I read about pure ammonia.

?fungus, mold...was told algae is not white. No snails in tank, or other animals.

I have pics, but not sure how to post.
Thanks!
Pedsdoc

EDITED BY WILLIAM TO ADD PICTURES:
http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/images/whitestuff1.jpg
http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/images/whitestuff2.jpg

ryanwms
03-09-2006, 08:17 PM
I can't help much with your tank problem, but to post pics, what I do on another website that uses this same Forum program, is to upload the pictures to another website I have, and then just add a link to the image in the textbox you use here to post. Your message will then post to the web browser, and it will find the command to load a picture, using the directory you have specified on another website.

Hope it helps, let me know if you need more info.

William
03-09-2006, 09:03 PM
You can aslo upload the picture to the photo album and link to it. (or you can email them to admin(at)aquaticcommunity.com and i'll add them for you.)

Is it just a plant or have the problem spread? If it is just the bulb it might be that it has died and/or get infected with fungus.

William
03-09-2006, 11:12 PM