PDA

View Full Version : Ancistrus

tonka
05-19-2009, 09:19 PM
Hi

i am just starting out trying to breed Ancistrus, i have just had 5 wild fish imported. can somebody tell me if adult Ancistrus will eat baby ancistrus, and can i leave tem all in 1 tank.
regards
tony
PS i am new to this site.

Northernguy
05-19-2009, 09:29 PM
Welcome to the Fabulous AC!
How small are the babies?
Usually bristle nose or bn pleco are extremely gentle. They get bossy move other fish out of their cave,shell, or whatever they cal their home.
Here is more info for you!http://www.planetcatfish.com/catelog/species.php?species_id=49

tonka
05-19-2009, 09:38 PM
Hi
they are between 2 inch and 3 1/2. i know i have at least 1 male he is the biggest fish and has quite a few bristles. i know these are a gentle fish i have had 1 in my community tank for a couple of years, i think they are funny little fish. thats the reason i wanted to try my hand at breeding them. i have them in a 2ft x 2ft x 18in tank with loads of bog wood and caves. do you know if the other bristlenose will eat the fry when the father leaves them.

regards
tony
PS thanks for the reply.

tonka
05-19-2009, 09:50 PM
Thanks for the link, and i have filled out my profile.
cheers

tony

Northernguy
05-19-2009, 10:00 PM
They should be fine as long as they get their own caves when they get bigger.Its when they get older that you may have to seperate the males.Only if you see aggression.Its not really a big tank.If you get into a bigger tank you will have less chances of difficuties.Lotsa caves,plants and wood so they do not have line of site all the time.
Bns are great in community tanks.Mine hides all day and comes out at night.

Just curious, how long has the tank been cycled? Bns need a well established tank,preferably cycled for at least 3 months!
What else is in the tank?Any fish or inverts?
Post some pics too! lol
You gonna be hanging around?

toddnbecka
05-20-2009, 04:57 AM
Which species of Ancistrus did you receive?

tonka