PDA

View Full Version : Live Rock

slingham64
03-03-2007, 02:14 AM
I've got a 30 gallon aquarium, and I'm wondering what a good amount of live rock would be. I'm a college student so extra money is hard to come by, so I wanna get the most bang for my buck. Any suggestions and good sources?

cocoa_pleco
03-03-2007, 02:25 AM
i use the 1 pound per gallon rule. I pay 8$ a lb for my live rock so my 10g cost 80$, but im sure you can find some for 5$ a pound. So, you need 30 lbs.

Chrona
03-03-2007, 02:37 AM
http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod_Display.cfm?pCatId=2391

Dr. Foster and Smith carries a really nice selection of fairly cheap LR. This foundation rock will work just as well as the premium Fiji stuff in terms of filtration. Obviously, you won't be getting all the nice coraline algae and organisms that would come with the premium stuff, but it's much cheaper.

35lb box for 60 bucks. Shipping is like 40 bucks? If you buy live rock from a store, you'll end up spending close to 200.

cocoa_pleco
03-03-2007, 02:41 AM
my store bought came loaded with goodies. Ive got like 10 anenomes, and tons of algae on 3lbs, though they gave me a 99% piece of rock that was 1lb and pure white, no organisms

Fishguy2727
03-03-2007, 03:57 AM
I have heard that liveaquaria's premium stuff is really good though, and at $180 shipped if I remember right for 45 pounds (under $4 per pound) it is a steal. And it is better to have 1.5-2 pounds per gallon. One pound per gallon is kind of like following what a filter claims it can handle, you really need more.

luckie8
04-08-2007, 02:24 AM
Sorry for being a noob but I couldnt find this answer anywhere.
Please help. Im trying to save some $$$ by skipping the canister filter.
Can I run a 40gal FOWLR with 45lb LR, skimmer and powerheads without a filter?

Chrona
04-08-2007, 02:54 AM
Sorry for being a noob but I couldnt find this answer anywhere.
Please help. Im trying to save some $$$ by skipping the canister filter.