PDA

View Full Version : Blackmoores dying =(

Chloe88
04-29-2009, 03:00 PM
I need help!! I have two blackmoores that are very sick and dying! :scry:

They are living in a 2ft, 60L freshwater tank. Their symptoms are laying on the bottom of the tank on their side, gasping heaps and unable to swim. They are very bloated due to them being constipated - they haven't pooed for 4 days!! They don't have any black marks but their fins are looking a bit shabby so I think they have fin rot.

I've cleaned the filter/pump, changed the water (it was VERY bad!), tested the Ph and its was neutral, added water treatment (Aquarium science complete water treatment), added salt to the water like the pet shop lady told me to and nothing has made them better. I have talked to people on different sites about it and they have asked me for all kinds of test results and levels of things... I'm very new to the fish game, I don't know much about anything so the only test i've done is the Ph!

I started feeding them a different brand of food about 2 weeks ago, its the same one that the pet shop uses to feed their fish so I don't think it is the food making them sick. I also added plastic plants to the tank at the same time as I changed their food if this has anything to do with it...

I don't know what I'm supposed to do to make them better! Please :help: 14150

Sharon
04-29-2009, 03:35 PM
If the tank is not cycled, the fish are probably reacting to toxins in the water...that is high levels of Ammonia and Nitrites. You really need to pick up an API master test kit...the one with vials and not test strips. Without the water readings it's impossible to say what's going on. For now, I'd do a 50% water change, and another 50% change tomorrow. Don't feed for three days, and then feed cooked, shelled peas only for a couple of days. That should help if indeed they are constipated.:ssmile:

smaug
04-29-2009, 09:30 PM