PDA

View Full Version : dismantling fluval canister filter

se7enhedd
03-22-2009, 08:05 PM
hi,
I'm new to the fish-keeping game. I've a fluval 103 external filter. it's been set up and running for a few months now, but is getting harder and harder to get apart for cleaning. I've resorted to prising it apart with a screwdriver but even that is difficult. I'm worried I'm going to crack the canister because it requires such force.
Has anyone any tips or methods for getting these things apart! :)

thanks

Lady Hobbs
03-22-2009, 08:11 PM
I have one like that I have used a screwdriver to open since the first day I had it. It's just a tight seal. You could run some vasoline on the seal and that may help. It's what I plan to do if I ever have some vasoline in the house.

Sharon
03-22-2009, 11:13 PM
My 305 is like that as well...I always have to get my husband to open it. If you use a screw driver, be careful you don't damage the seal. :ssmile:

terrapin24h
03-24-2009, 03:29 PM
careful prying with a screwdriver. If you damage the seat or oring you have a problem far worse than not getting your canister filter open :)

My 05 series is like yours too, and i manage to get it to open by bracing my hands on the clamps and then applying alternating lifting pressure to the sides of the pump head--"walking" the head out of the can. Once the seal on one side "pops" it comes out very easy. Keep the sealing areas lubed with petroleum jelly

--chris

terrapin24h
03-25-2009, 04:57 PM
I just took mine apart last night to check it. What i found easier was this:
--set can on counter in front of you
--grip top of can just below sealing rim on the sides near the front of the can
--take your thumbs and apply pressure to the front surface of the can top(pump head) in kind of a rollin of kneading motion