PDA

View Full Version : Is my tank cycling?

JerikasTank
03-19-2009, 03:59 PM
My girlfriend recently inherited a 30 gallon from a co-worker. Due to the circumstances in which the tank was moved we had to move quickly with the fish and only had a few hours to refill the tank and get the fish back in. I have watched the levels in the tank fairly religiously testing every few days for a couple weeks and now only test about once a week.

Once the tank seemed well established we added a plant which our Tinfoil Barbs took to chewing on. Seeing the demise of this plant, the girlfriend and I added additional plants as to give the Barbs some variety as well as adding a Pleco as a decent buildup of algae was apparent.

Now my problem is that a day after adding the new plants and Pleco Im getting ammonia levels as high as .50 as well as high nitrite levels. Now Im really new to all this so Im trying to figure out if this is actually a cycle or is it the result of disturbing gravel during planting and the addition of the Pleco?

The tank is currently stocked with 2 Kissing Gouramies, 2 Tinfoil Barbs, 1 Common Pleco, and an assortment of plants ranging from 8 inch tall leafy stems and a small, ground level mossey variety.

Please note that Im not even entirely sure of the defination of "cycling" so I may be in the wrong place for this.

Northernguy
03-19-2009, 04:11 PM
Welcome to the AC!
It sounds like your cycle wasn't ready for the bioload that a pleco carries.
Whenever you get a spike like that the best cure is a water change.Make sure you use dechlorinator.Test and do daily water changes until your perameters are down to a healthy Ammonia 0,nitrites 0,nitrates under 20.
Hopefully you are using a liquid test kit.You get more accurate results.

Heliwyr
03-19-2009, 04:14 PM
Plecos, from what I understand, are actually very messy fish. They poop all the time, which is going to increase your ammonia a little bit.