PDA

View Full Version : New SW tank setup

sktadood13
03-13-2009, 08:38 PM
I noticed most people are documenting the setup of their tanks so i decided to do the same. =D

As on right now i have two 55 gallon hang over filters running.
One power head rated for a 50 gallon tank. 270gph
I only have florescent lights at the moment because i am not planning to keep coral until my tank is matured and i have some experience. They are two 18" 15 watt lights. I have one Actinic blue bulb in and planning to get one for the other light soon.
I have added the substrate, Silica sand
I have had Salt water and all this set up for about a week now.
My next step is to get some live rock! =D

Sorry if i have horrible pictures. All i have is a camera phone

Ill post pictures the next chance i get.
I well take all criticism and advise! Thanks

sktadood13
03-13-2009, 10:08 PM
Here is the picture of my tank. Sorry about the quality http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o137/sktadood13/0313091801.jpg

labnjab
03-14-2009, 05:37 AM
I'd do away with the filters. Their just going to cause nitrate problems down the road and get a skimmer rated for twice the tank size and 1-1.5 lbs of live rock per gallon (or a combo of base and live, the more live the better) along with a combination of powerheads that will get you a 20-30x turn over. I would go with at least 2 korilia 2's, but you may need more once you find out where your dead spots are. This will be your filtration

You also should do away with the silica sand, as it may cause some major algae problems down the road. I would get a fine aragonite sand

coachfraley
03-14-2009, 07:25 AM
I know it's tough, but labnjab's advice is solid. Your equipment will work in the mean time, but you are going to want to get more flow from powerheads, and ditch the filters.

You could use one of the filters to hold media like carbon or phosban and a sponge, but you will want to completely clean the sponge out every couple of days.

sktadood13