PDA

View Full Version : Can't keep up

allsmiles
03-12-2009, 06:07 PM
I'm a noob, and I've searched through some of the threads to find one similar to what I am needing to ask, but didn't quite find what I was looking for.

I have a predatory tank. 1 needlefish, 1 oscar, and one dinosaur bichir. They have all been in together for a while and they do not bother or even really acknowledge that the others are there.

I was told that the needlefish will only eat other smaller fish and so I've been buying rosy red minnows (fat heads).

However, even though I supplement the bichir and the oscar's diet with a large variety of other food (glass worms, tubifex worms, flake food, cichlid pellets, bloodworms, beef hearts etc) they still eat the minnows, which would be fine, but they are eating me out of house and home. The needlefish eats maybe one or 2 a day, but I have to by 80, twice a week. At 12 cents a feeder, this adds up to approximately $75/month just in feederfish.

I don't want to starve the needlefish, but I can't keep this up. I had no idea that they would be so insatiable.

Last week, I started a 10 gal with 1 male molly and 5 females to try to supplement their diet, reduce risk of disease, as well as add a bit of variety because I've heard that fish cannot thrive on one type of feeder fish alone and the only types of feeders that any pet store near me sells is rosy reds, goldfish (which I've heard are horrible for your fish) and ghost shrimp (33 cents each) However, I'm not sure this will be enough.

Does anyone have any other ideas? I don't want to get rid of any of my fish. My local pet store suggested setting up yet another tank and buying 100 or so feeders at a time and putting them in there and only putting 4 or 5 in the tank a day, but 1) I don't want to set up another tank because I have already spent so much on two tanks so far and 2) I'm thinking that the bichir and oscar will still beat the needlefish to the minnows.