PDA

View Full Version : Green Leather Corals

xplosive
03-08-2009, 11:49 PM
Hi,

First off, I am fairly new to corals. I have maintained a saltwater tank for about a year and a half now with a few invertebrates (sally lightfoot, blood shrimp, misc snails) as well a single clown and a coral beauty. I know now that the coral beauty is not the most coral friendly fish I could have added to the tank.

I purchased a small green leather coral about a month and a half ago and it seemed to do ok for the first week. After the first week it turned more of a purple color, but after some research felt this may be well within normal behaviour since I thought I had read somewhere that there color may change slightly. As of late though I noticed what look like white spots appearing on some of the branches (mostly around the tips). Now, I've never noticed anything in the tank even approaching the coral, so I don't -think- it's being eaten.

What can I provide here to get some tips on what might be going on? I am going to try and snap a good picture of it and post shortly but please let me know what else would help in the meantime.

xplosive
03-09-2009, 12:04 AM
Here's a pic of the coral in question.
Small pic in attached, high res pic in link.

http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/IyD2HDemKAE6kgoctC2VUg?authkey=Gv1sRgCLjDjKX1yOaBG Q&feat=directlink

AABatteries
03-09-2009, 12:21 AM
What kind of lighting are you running? What size tank is it? Are there enough nutrients in the water? Once we know that, we can try and go from there.

xplosive
03-09-2009, 12:32 AM
30 Gallon
2 x 24" flourescent (1 white, 1 blue)
As for nutrients, I don't supplement anything, I was told the water was good due to the purple algae growing on everything in the tank, but to be honest I haven't tested the water since putting the coral in.

ILuvMyGoldBarb
03-09-2009, 12:55 AM