PDA

View Full Version : Help w/starting 2nd tank



Macleod52
03-06-2009, 03:36 PM
I'm going to be borrowing a 55gallon from my friend. Currently I have a 29gal w/a 30/60 whisper filter and an aquaclear 75. I was wondering what I could do to speed up/eliminate the cycling process of the 55 gallon tank. I was planning on taking a few of the plants from the current tank, plus one of the filters from the 29 gallon tank and put those in the 55. I was also going to transfer the 3 goldfish (each about 2in) from the 29 gallon.

Does anyone know if this is a good way to shorten the cycling period of the new tank? Does anyone know what kind of timeframe I'm looking at as far as completing the cycle goes?

Northernguy
03-06-2009, 04:05 PM
Put the aqua clear 75 on the 55 if it is a cycled filter.If you have another filter for the 55 place some of the dirty media in side it.That should instantly cycle the tabnk for you.Be sure to add fish slowly.Start with 3 and wait a few weeks.
Make sure to monitor your perameters for a small spike but I doubt it!

bushwhacker
03-06-2009, 04:32 PM
NG nailed it instant cycle... just make sure to monitor your params for a week or too but you should be good

Macleod52
03-06-2009, 04:37 PM
Awesome, thank you guys.

As for dechlorinating the water, I use stress coat. I usually put in in the bucket before I fill it with water, then I just add to my tank. Do I need to let that stuff sit before I do this?

Northernguy
03-06-2009, 06:32 PM
Awesome, thank you guys.

As for dechlorinating the water, I use stress coat. I usually put in in the bucket before I fill it with water, then I just add to my tank. Do I need to let that stuff sit before I do this?
If you are using the bucket method just add and pour.It doesn't really matter as long as you use it.
Refill your bucket as soon as its empty and place a loose fitting lid on the bucket.This will allow the gases to escape and keep the dust out.It will be practically drchlorinated in a few days but keep using the stress coat.

Macleod52
03-06-2009, 06:57 PM
Are you saying after I add the product it takes 2-3 days to remove the chlorine, or are you saying if I let the water sit unaltered, it takes 2-3 days?

If it takes 2-3 days after I add the product, and I just add it instantly w/out waiting, will it screw up my bacteria colonies?

Northernguy
03-06-2009, 07:40 PM
If you let the water sit in the bucket for a few days there should be very little chlorine smell.Its better than adding it direct from the tap.

bushwhacker
03-06-2009, 07:48 PM
i just add my water straight from the tap with out dechlor, but i have really good water here most folks need it but you can fill the tank then add your dechlor it works almost instantly, i think what NG is saying is that if you let a bucket sit for 24 hours the chlorine dissapates on its own

terrapin24h
03-06-2009, 09:39 PM
*chlorine* will evap out of the water as it sits in the bucket over night. *chloramine* will NOT, if my memory serves. You can either add stress coat to your bucket as you fill it, or add it to the tank in enough quantity to cover however much water you are going to put in. Either way will work

--chris

Macleod52
03-08-2009, 09:29 PM
Okay, is it possible to put both filters from the 29 gallon into the 55 gallon and move all my fish over (along with all the decorations, etc?) right away, or do I have to still slowly transfer the fish over? The reason being is that I don't have a heater for the 55gal and if I have the temp just right, so if I brought my heating element over, it'd be less shock to the fish I'm assuming.

korith
03-08-2009, 10:01 PM
Okay, is it possible to put both filters from the 29 gallon into the 55 gallon and move all my fish over (along with all the decorations, etc?) right away, or do I have to still slowly transfer the fish over? The reason being is that I don't have a heater for the 55gal and if I have the temp just right, so if I brought my heating element over, it'd be less shock to the fish I'm assuming.

That would work as well, moving all the filters from the 29 into the 55. Or you could just take all the media from the old filters and put them into the 55g filter. You may want to get a better heater for the 55g, a small heater may have trouble keeping the temp in a larger tank.

Macleod52
03-08-2009, 10:04 PM
Actaully my heater is rated for up to a 75 gallon tank. :) I'm just glad I can move all the fish over without having to wait a month.

korith
03-08-2009, 10:12 PM
Actaully my heater is rated for up to a 75 gallon tank. :) I'm just glad I can move all the fish over without having to wait a month.

In that case you got no issues then.

ErikFromNJ
03-09-2009, 03:38 AM
My friend just did the same thing a few weeks ago. He went from a 40 to a 75. Heres how he did it...

Placed the 75 where he wanted.
Added new substrate to the 75. (gravel)
Took a gallon of water out of the 40 and into a bucket.
Transferred the fish to the bucket.
Siphoned the water from the 40 to the 70.
Added decorations.
Hooked up 40 gal filter to 75. Along with a new cascade 1000 (100 gal filter)
Topped tank off with tap water getting temps as close as possible.
Added a cap and a half full of ''Cycle'' to the water
Transferred fish to 75.
Tested parameters:
Ammonia 0
Nitrite .25 This was 0 in the 40gal but I think went up because he put in old substrate after filling the tank.
Nitrates 5.0

Took us both a little under an hour. Once the cascade cycles, he's donating the 40 gal filter and tank to me! Woohoo! Now I'll have 3 tanks!:18: