PDA

View Full Version : Help ! Research needed !

Franny
03-04-2009, 06:03 PM
:fish: :fish:
Hello My Name is Franny, Im a newbie, and I'm here 'on site' looking for you special people out there who know a heck of a lot more about this than I (blush)
Im a bit intimidated, as there seem to be alot of rules and I would hate to upset anyone, or get things wrong, so please bare with me.
I'm looking for information on the long term effects of Jellyfish stings, basically even though Im aware that for some people they can be a minor discomfort, others however may have an allergic response to a Jellyfish sting. I'm looking for a list of long term symptoms that might not go away, I'm aware of a child who had a severe reaction to a sting and the fact that it affect his whole right leg, including severe inflamation, swelling to twice it's size, deep redenning, and a loss of sensation, (that was permanent). Could You please tell me where I may get the appropriate research and statistics on the long term prognosis and/ or symptomology of some of the rarer reactions ?
Thank You, I appreciate the time You have taken to read this.
Franny

korith
03-04-2009, 09:07 PM
Hi welcome to the site. I would be looking at medical/microbiology textbooks for research. Or someone locally at the university in the field of study.

Wild Turkey
03-04-2009, 09:23 PM
Welcome to the site!!! thumbs2:

Honestly, it sounds like a large project and i would seek outside help as suggested above. I doubt fish hobbyists are exactly the experts you are looking for in this instance.

However, its no reason not to take a look around and maybe make some new friends!:19:

invadertoast
03-04-2009, 09:45 PM
Welcome! I don't have any "real" information, but I went to high school with a girl who was stung as a small child. She had a big red mark on the back of her upper thigh that looked like a giant birthmark. As far as I know it wasn't uncomfortable and wasn't swollen, it was just a giant red mark.

ILuvMyGoldBarb