PDA

View Full Version : 23 Gallon Long Brackish tank

primetime
02-19-2009, 02:34 AM
I recently bought a dragon (violet) goby for my 55 gallon FW tank. After doing my research, I have decided to set up a brackish 23Gallon tank for it and upgrade the size as if it outgrows it. The tank is long (36") and looks like it should be a legit habitat for the time being.

What I am wondering is what kinds of fish can be kept in this tank. I have never done brackish before and am completely new to the idea. I want fish that are unique and not the typical mollies or guppies. I like the idea of putting a school of bumblebee gobies but I am not sure if the Dragon Goby would eat them. Another option I am considering is brackish puffers but I need to know more about them and whether they would be compatible. I'm also open to other suggestions as well and hoping to get as many ideas as possible. Thanks!

cer
02-19-2009, 10:23 PM
Bumblebee Gobies are territorial so you can not have a school of them. I do not know much about puffers.

Dragon cqzzzzz<
02-19-2009, 10:52 PM
Yeah bumblebee gobies do not generally school. That doesn't mean though that you can't have them in groups. I have nine together in a ten gal and they're spawning.
Your violet goby probably would not eat small fish like BBG's. I have heard of them attacking larger fish, such as tiger barbs (not suitable tankmates) as they mature. Like most gobies (the bumblebees included) violet gobies are territorial. If you're doing tankmates, keep it small.
I would not reccomend puffers as tankmates because I've seen too many pictures/videos of violet gobies that were torn up by puffers.

Red
02-19-2009, 11:03 PM
I would never tell someone to keep puffers with other fish. Very nippy and will nip other fish. I good size fish is a Glass Fish that like brackish and FW. Make sure you don't buy the painted though..

primetime
02-23-2009, 05:47 AM