PDA

View Full Version : Hello from NJ!

ErikFromNJ
02-17-2009, 02:30 AM
Hello everyone! I was at an estate sale this past weekend and picked up a 70 gallon for $100. The base is solid oak and built like a tank, however the top looked kind of boring so I decided to build (carpenter by trade) a canopy for it out of solid oak as well. I think it looks more balance now :) Tomorrow I'll stain and poly it to match the base.

http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q163/TSWCorpsegrinder/100_5346.jpg

http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q163/TSWCorpsegrinder/100_5348.jpg

I used to have 55 gallon aquarium a few years back that had 2 oscars, a pleca (sp?), 1 dempsey and a stingray. All though they were all babies man did those osars poop alot! I remember it being such a pita to keep the tank clean with them guys. Well one day I came home and the stingray was dead. I dont know what the heck happened, then a week later the dempsey passed. Then a few weeks later the pleca died! WTF! I didn't know what to do! I ended up moving the oscars to my brothers tanks, (he still has them) and called it quits with the whole aquarium. Years later, got married, had 2 kids, bought a house and ran into this 70 gallon thinking how cool it would be to start up again. I think my mids will really enjoy it. Heck there excited with no fish in it!

I just found this forum last night, btw, it looks like a great place with a ton of info (almost too much info!). If someone would so politely point me into the right direction as to where I can get some good reading to learn about how to set up my tank up I'd appreciate it.

Also, what do you guys/gals think as far as kind of fish I should start with. I'd like to stay away from the oscars. That stingray I had was very cool that I'd like to get another if I can find one. They were tough to find back then.

Anyways, enough of my rambling, I better get to reading. Again thanks for any info and I look forward to chatting with you folks!!

...Erik

Brookfish