PDA

View Full Version : Newbie anxious to learn

Macleod52
02-12-2009, 06:06 PM
Hello all, I am very new to the fish business. I have several friends who all have tanks, but I couldn't afford the initial cost of the hobby. I have a friend who gratiously is letting me borrow (hopefully willing to sell) a 40 gal tank & stand with a Whisper 30-60 & Aquaclear 70 filters.

Currently I'm on my 3rd or 4th week of the cycle. I'm using 3 small goldfish and about 18 (4 weaker ones died about the 3rd day in) danio's/rosey reds. My ammonia finally dropped to zero and my nitrites have spiked. I figure I've got about two more weeks for my cycle to complete.

Anyway, I plan on starting a Cichlid tank. I'm planning on African Cichlids, more than likely the mbuna's. I also plan on getting 2-3 pleco's and a red tail shark.

A few questions that I haven't seen in my brief searchings of the forum. Can I intermix African, American, etc. cichlids? I know the agression level differs, but if you get some that are roughly the same temperment, is it possible to have them coexist with each other? Next question is how many fish can I add at one time? I planned on adding the pleco and red tailed shark first, then a week or two later add two cichlids at a time.

How many fish can I add at one time without shocking the system so badly that it cylces again? Also, what is the max amount of fish I could put in here? I'm thinking 4-6 Cichlids, 2-3 Plecos, and the red tail shark. Is that too much, or just right?

Thanks, and I look forwards to learning all sorts of new things.

Alfcea
02-12-2009, 06:16 PM
Hello Mac! Welcome to the fabulous AC!!! It's good to know that you are enjoying the hobby. Keep up with those water changes! They are very much needed when cycling with fish!

Crispy
02-12-2009, 06:17 PM